Change the CU

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by David Guinane, Aug 12, 2022.

1. David Guinane

David Guinane Member

Hi All,
    Im a qualified electrician and overhead lines man and recently qualified as an engineer. I've never worked as a sparky in the UK just on the overhead but have worked in Ireland where i serverd my time then moved to Australia where i got my tickets and worked.
    My cu needs changing at home but am i right in saying I cannot do it legally with out taking my 18th edition test? I keep on top of the Reg changes because of my job but the more i look in to it even if i do the test i cant sign it off. Is they a body that can come and test it and issue a cert (provided it passes obviously)

Thanks

2. Tony Goddard

Tony Goddard Screwfix Select

You can legally change it yourself, but your work must conform to BS7671 (18th edition) and be notified to local authority building control to comply with Part P of the building regulations. You can do this by contacting you LABC office before you commence work, they will explain the process (which can differ a little between counties) and the fees.

You will need calibrated test gear, which can be hired. As you are a spark from overseas (but thank heavens more or less the same voltage, anyone who plays with 115 isn't a proper spark!!) I would advise buying a copy of the On-site guide to the 18th edition and digesting it and approved document P before laying your plans.

This only applies to England & Wales, Scotland has their own set up of which I know little (they use the same regs of course), and I'm not sure if NI has moved off gas lighting yet:)

3. David Guinane

David Guinane Member

Thank you. Great to know.

In Ireland we worked to the same regs as England but not sure about NI as you say .

I Have access to the 18th edition bur5i will give it a good read to catch up on things.
    Thanks again

dbm likes this.
  4. CeSparky1

CeSparky1 Active Member