Changing Bath Taps

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Doing My Dinger, Jul 23, 2004.

1. Doing My Dinger

Doing My Dinger New Member

Hi there,

Looking for a wee bit of information if anyone can lend some advice...

I've got some leakage around the taps on my Bath - It would appear to be caused by a washer at the base of the hot tap actually slipping through to the underside leaving a gap right around.

My question is, I want to change the taps anyway - If i buy some new ones, just how easy/difficult are they to swap over ? by this i mean removal of the old ones and installation of the new.

I'm not experienced in any types of plumbing although i'm a bit of a dab hand at other DIY stuff - is this something I could do myself or should a plumber be called to take care of it ?

Cheers !

2. it can be a pig of a job experienced or not. it will depend on how much room you have to get to them. do you have enough room to make a full turn of a wrench? if you do it shouldn't be a problem. if you don't then as i said earlier it'll be a pig and you'll need to get yourself a tap wrench, prepare to swear a lot and damage your knuckles . good luck

3. Bitty

Bitty New Member

chp is absolutely right - it can be a swine. My brother, who is pants at diy, thought it would be an easy job to start his diy skills on... I still chuckle at the memory.

A potential problem you might find is that the existing taps (if they are old) may have a different length of threaded section. Therefore, if your pipes don't have any 'give' in them, you could find that the tap connector won't <u>reach</u> the new taps (%@#&*$%#) or they might even be too long! (You suddenly find that getting the taps off was the easy part...)

Other than that, it is a case of spending a great deal of time on your back, trying to undo tap connectors and fixing nuts 1/8th of a turn at a time with a tap wrench which behaves as if it's made from rubber (it's a bit like trying to thread a needle in treacle).