compond mitre saw

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by will, Nov 7, 2003.

1. will

will New Member

Hi, I fit kitchens for a living and i am after a really good mitre saw at a realistic price to cut cornice & pelmet. I have tryed every one of them at B & Q and they are all rubbish. Any ideas. Oh and what does double bevel cut mean
    thanks

2. Evs

Evs New Member

Hi Will, I am a kitchen fitter also and I have just bought a Dewallt 708. Granted it is pricey at £500 + VAT but it has a 12" blade which allows for very deep cornice and a double bevel (cuts 45 deg left and right in the vertical plane). The radial action also gives me a cross cut of 12" which is handy for cutting & mitering plinth and small panels when customising. Though the most important thing is to change the blade on any machine you purchase to one that is designed to cut double faced melamine, i.e. has the most teeth for that size of blade. My blade has 96 teeth and is teflon coated (cost £80). Your mitre saw (along with your Jig and Router) is one of the most imortant tools for a kitchen fitter so it is wise to invest in agood one.
    Best of luck

3. will

will New Member

HI thanks for replying. what do you think of a Makita LS 1040 Priced at £200
    thanks

4. mr.kitchen

mr.kitchen New Member

I have a De-walt 707. I only got it because it seems to be the industry standard. It performs very well with a 60 tooth blade. The main thing to check with the cheaper machines is if they do not have a radial arm/pull over facility they will not quite cut the standard 150mm plinth which is a real pain, also the de-walt I have will not take the taller type cornices on some of the trendier Magnet type kitchens so these have to be done on my old hand mitre saw. Hope this is of use to you.

5. Chips

Chips New Member

Hi will
    Whatever you decide to buy, always make sure to have your blade regularly sharpened.
    A blunt blade will not cut a perfect line?

6. mof

mof Member