Correct cable for security lights?

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by screwfix@slicelink.com, Nov 23, 2012.

1. I've got an electrician in fitting a pair of PIR security lights on the back of my house - thought I'd get a pro rather than DIY so work would be correctly certificated...

I noticed this eve that the cable being used outside is Tower 3183Y 1.0mm H05VV-F in white...
    http://www.screwfix.com/p/tower-3183y-1-5mm-3-core-round-flex-50m/88820

I'm no sparky (I'm a mechanical engineer so view electrickery as witchcraft!) and setting aside the asthetic uglyness of the white cable, I thought that PVC sheathed cable shouldn't be used permanently outdoors due to UV degradation and water ingress issues...  Any views from the wise on here?  Should he be using something like H05RN-F instead:
    http://www.screwfix.com/p/tower-3-core-reel-flexible-cable-black-1-5mm-x-50m/76797
    or something else...

Screwfix product descriptions don't mention internal / external use, so tell me if I'm over worrying - quick response appreciated as he's back tommorrow (Sat) afternoon!

thanks in advance, T.

2. Lokkars Daisy

Lokkars Daisy New Member

how much of this flex is outside, is it just a short length '1m' connecting the light to a ?

3. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

Black flex is preferable to white for outside use as it's much less affected by uv light. 

4. About 8 metres across the back and corner of the house, as both lights are being wired from same connection.

5. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

Over that distance i'd be using Hi-Tuff.   Wiska box or similar near to the lamp with a short length of black flex from box to lamp.

6. wally

wally Screwfix Select

7. Lokkars Daisy

Lokkars Daisy New Member

A comercial type job I would use MICC ,, domestic then perhaps FP200

8. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

Hi Wally,