Covid19 and MyBuilder

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Comlec, Mar 24, 2020.

1. Comlec

Comlec Screwfix Select

I sent this to MyBuilder today

As a responsible trader I am appalled that you are still sending out leads to me from homeowners wanting non-essential work completed. I am more concerned that many foolish traders are responding with interest in this work.
    The way you are operating your platform at a time of a national health crisis is unbelievable,
    To continue to send out leads your irresponsibility will cause the further spread of the virus and the mounting death tool.

Please consider this an open letter.

I, like many others, now have little or no work but I will choose to be poorer rather than see your relatives die.

Last edited: Mar 24, 2020
  2. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

I was born poor so had no choice.

3. timotay

timotay Active Member

If customers need essential work done...maybe an arrangement that they are in garden when you arrive...you do the work...wash before entering and before leaving.
    Disinfect your tools with a spray.
    Is that a safe and viable option ?
    There are always workarounds ?

4. Comlec

Comlec Screwfix Select

Totally accept that essential (emergency) work should be done providing all precautions can be taken. But not seen one job in that category yet. Why risk putting people who don’t know each other, it just mad but selfish.

I am afraid those new downlighters, extra sockets, CU upgrades will just have to wait.

5. The Shadow

The Shadow Member

Would a half finished re tile felt and battern on a roof on a house ( not fully watertight ) be classed as essential work.
    Wife is classed as very vulnerable.

Roofer says he cannot comeback at the moment

There is no government guidance on this

Thanks

6. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select

Had a gas safety check booked tommorow. Company rang yesterday to say they cant come out until 16th April.