CSCS Card

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Emraa, Dec 16, 2011.

1. Emraa

Emraa New Member

I am a qualified Carpenter and have been for about 8 years, I have NVQ and served an apprentiship (althoug I have no proof of this). I am employed at the momemnt and want to go self emloyed but need a CSCS card.
    I am confused by which card I need and how I go about doing it. .
    Really need to get this sorted ASAP so any help and a shove in the right direction would be great.

Thanks
    Si

2. was dunc before

was dunc before New Member

I tried getting one, but didn't get anywhere with it.. I got put from pillar to post with a variety of agencies who couldn't agree on what to do. several answerphone messages, emails, were ignored so i gave up.

But from what most people will tell you it seems like if you get a job with a firm they will simply put you through a basic induction course and you're in.

Also to be self employed doesn't require a cscs card. you need to register with the tax office as self employed and they will tell you what to do.

3. joinerjohn1

joinerjohn1 Screwfix Select

The OP will need a CSCS card if he want's to become self employed and wants to sub contract on building sites. He may want to consider learning Polish too, as this seems to be one of the first requirements for lots of construction sites (specially darn sarf) ;)

4. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select

Hi Emraa

Here is a link to the CSCS site.

http://www.cscs.uk.com/

You should be able to get all  the information you require here.

Kind regards

BS

5. Chris Hardy

Chris Hardy New Member

Hi,

The link Bazza gave will get you the info on the card.

However _ do you need the card to get on the site? or does the site need a Skills card to show you are a carpenter.