Cutting doors to fit carpet

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by upsticks, Feb 12, 2005.

1. upsticks

upsticks Member

Total novice here in need of some advice. I have 4 doors that need shortening so that new carpet & underlay can be fitted underneath. I have asked many carpet fitters and none of them are willing to do this as part of the laying job. If I was to try to do it myself what would be the easiest way? Can it be done somehow without taking the doors off their hinges? (I have a feeling they will be hard to shift). If I asked a carpenter to do it any idea how much he/she should charge and are they likely to be interested in taking on such a small job. All help & advice much appriciated.

Upsticks.

2. dewaltdisney

dewaltdisney New Member

Hi Ups,

Well carpet fitters never get involved unless they have to. It depends on what type of door you have because if you have the standard hollow panel doors then you have not got much to play with at the bottom as the frame of the door is less than 25mm thick all round. If they are solid doors then it is a little easier but the doors have to come off to do them.

Come back with the type of door and what tools you have and we will try to put you straight.

DWD

3. bathstyle

bathstyle Active Member

You can hire out door cutters that can cut in situ.

4. bodget&scarpers

bodget&scarpers New Member

u can get a karlton door trimmer 4 £230, or just use a bicky trimmer 4 a few doors,used 2 do a load of this work 4 carpet firms,then never got much more work,after the karlton :(
    any way still nice an shiney :)

5. panlid

panlid New Member

**** off bodget, a buscuit jointer.lol. i normally charge about £10 a door and do small jobs like this on the way home at night. 4 doors should take about an hour to do. if doing yourself buy a cheap planer about £30. plane from edges inwards so you dont splinter edges.

6. britishblue

britishblue New Member