cutting M5 thread on 5mm steel rod - thread loose

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by Don4, May 24, 2009.

1. Don4

Don4 New Member

Gratefull for any help here. I'm not that experienced with engineering.

I'm making a truss rod for an electric guitar. The rod is 5mm thick and requires threading at one end so that when installed a nut can be turned against a bearing plate to tension the neck.

I have so far gone through 4 pieces of steel rod cutting the thread with an M5 0.8 die out of a Screwfix branded set I bought.

The nuts are a bit loose on all of them and the thread strips off under even a little tension.

Advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

How long does the rod need to be?

A decent die should have an adjuster so you can tweak the exact diameter it's cutting.

3. G Brown

G Brown New Member

4. DewaltÆ User

DewaltÆ User New Member

you cant cut a M5 thread on M5 Bar, it cant be done the rod is too small in diameter, you would have to thread it M4 for it to work.

5. Don4

Don4 New Member

Thanks for the link G Brown but I'm making a non-standard scale length neck.

6. Don4

Don4 New Member

Yeah I can see the screw Chippie but it doesn't seem to do much. Also when I look inside the die there seem to be a couple of small bits that have broken off.

7. Don4

Don4 New Member

On a tea-break, are you sure about this? becuase the manual says that it is what you should do and it sure does cut a thread it's just a bit loose.

I have also used an M10 die to extend the thread on M10 coach bolts with no problem.

8. Don4

Don4 New Member

I think I'm going to tr a new die.

9. ponty01.

ponty01. New Member

You DO use 5mm rod for an M5 thread.