Decking help: odd shape area + flagstone base

Discussion in 'Landscaping and Outdoors' started by boylemeister, Jun 18, 2014.

1. boylemeister

boylemeister New Member

Hi all, total newbie to decking so I was hoping for a couple of pointers to save me from making a real mess here please. I've got a small back yard with some steps going down to a basement. The steps are pretty steep with drops off both sides so I cant let my 2yr old son play out. Its hard to describe so hopefully this before / after pic helps:
    [​IMG]
    I've looked at options for blocking the access to the steps:

1) a fence/gate straight across the width of the yard - the flagstones are floating on compressed sand and I've read that post holders would be difficult to bolt in without the stones cracking.
    Q: Are there any tricks I'm missing here to secure a gate & fence?

2) decking first to allow for a fence on top - I was thinking of decking the two side areas and then a section across the front (u-shape deck across whole width). I can see the decking base structure will be fun to create but I think it's possible. Q: I'm assuming I just make lots of squares? The main problem I have is how to secure the decking down - flagstones don't look stable enough to bolt into & I've read that I shouldn't secure the deck to the main walls due to damp risks. Q: Are there any methods to do this safely?

Any help here would be greatly appreciated, cheers,
    Steve

2. Is the only reason you'd fit the decking to have something to secure the fence on to at the front? Or do you want decking there anyways?

If you really want a straight-forward fence and gate solution, no decking required; glue is your friend :).

Ok, by glue I mean a really powerful, gap-filling, rubbery, easy-to-use adhesive such as 'Everbuild STIXALL' - there are alternatives from other manufacturers.