Dedicated Spur does, will it stop Spike Surges from power tools etc

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by adamfromayr, Mar 20, 2018.

1. adamfromayr

adamfromayr New Member

Hi guys

Can you Sparksy by trade please tell me

Will getting a “dedicated un-switched Spur fitted” to the main consumer unit help or eliminate any spike surges to a shop security system?

As the builders were in using power tools and the system failed after this

Would a Dedicated Un-switched Spur, of help stop this?

Rather than it being plugged into shared normal wall sockets as it was?

Adam

2. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

There is no such thing as a “dedicated un-switched Spur fitted” to the main consumer unit.

Do you mean a spur from the consumer unit? Most cases where a dedicated smoothed supply would be used would be for delicate instrumentation equipment or IT kit. Even then it would be fed via an UPS. SO if you fed your security system from a UPS it might work.

3. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Super Member

Do you mean taking a radial from the CU, on the same MCB that's feeding the ring final? It might help a bit with spikes but not a lot.

4. Bob Rathbone

Bob Rathbone Screwfix Select

When you say t 'failed' what exactly do you mean. Most electronic switching power supplies have an input filter on the supply to prevent the switching PSU affecting the rest of the installation and to prevent the installation affecting it, ie spikes.

5. adamfromayr

adamfromayr New Member

Hi ive been told by a Lot of Security Tagging System Installers there should be a "dedicated spur" for the 240v Power pack to be hard wired into
    This i know helps prevent false alarms and stops electrical surge spikes to the Security controller for the Tagging system the Power Pack needs 240v but if using the power from a normal house hold socket it will cause false alarms as the power is shared down the line!

So im aksing will a dedicated spur to the consumer unit, Be better??

6. Coloumb