Delchem side entry ball valve - water reaching overflow

Discussion in 'Getting Started FAQ' started by Mr Freeman, Oct 3, 2018.

1. Mr Freeman

Mr Freeman New Member

Hi guys, sorry have to ask a total noob question but I'm not sure if I can adjust this ballcock in my main tank (picture attached)? It looks like a toilet ball valve rather than for the main tank. The white plastic rod is completely rigid and won't bend, and I presume the washer is wearing out as the water level is reaching the overflow pipe causing a drip early in the morning around 7.00am. You can see in the picture the water is near to the overflow even in the evening. Is it easier to just replace the whole thing for an adjustable one, or can this one be tweaked to make the ball sit lower in the water and therefore push the valve in sooner?

I've pushed the ball and plastic rod up to highest position and it does close off the water completely, so maybe the washer is ok? I just need the position of the ball to be lower to enable it to close the valve fully before it reaches the overflow. I think the wrong valve was fitted here as it's letting the water get too high even when it was working ok. Thanks for any ideas!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 3, 2018
  2. Heat

Heat Well-Known Member

The small plastic bolt is the adjustment. Would also need new diaphragm washer inside.
    But you are correct, that valve is better replaced with the all brass equivalent - a part 2 ballvalve.
    Not expensive at approx £5 (or £8 for Peglers valve) in Screwfix.
    You really do not want a valve plastic threaded tail cracking outside the tank under mains pressure.

3. Mr Freeman

Mr Freeman New Member