Domestic Circuits

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Raqeeb Ahmed, Aug 6, 2020.

1. Raqeeb Ahmed

Raqeeb Ahmed New Member

Hi guys

Im rewiring my house at the moment. Aside from increased cost is there any reason why instead of wiring circuits upstairs downstairs etc in to individual rooms is bad? What i mean is if i wired all the rooms in my house to individual rcbo"s for lighting and sockets so all the rooms would be independent of the other.

2. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

If you're asking such a basic question it makes me wonder about how you have dealt with the complexities of completing a full re-wire.

3. Raqeeb Ahmed

Raqeeb Ahmed New Member

Sorry i should be more specific im not an electrician im having my house rewired. The wall are back to brick ceilings are off and im going to find an electrician to do the work. Im just trying to find out if cost is the only issue.

4. Raqeeb Ahmed

Raqeeb Ahmed New Member

Yes the builder doing the work has done so

nigel willson likes this.
  5. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

If you want to run separate circuits to each room there's nothing to stop you but yes, you will need a big cu. You could rcbo each circuit or use a split load, which is a little bit cheaper. Best thing to do would be to ask the spark who does the work.

6. Raqeeb Ahmed

Raqeeb Ahmed New Member

The cost is not an issue. I dont mind paying more as long as it protects my family, my property and also is convenient. My old consumer was a wire fuse one and it was always a problem when the fuse blew. Im doing a lot of work to the property and want the best.

7. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

Well then knock your self out. Good luck.

8. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select