Drain at the rear over flowing

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Movieman334, Dec 5, 2017.

1. Movieman334

Movieman334 New Member

Hi all,

I'm totally new to DIY and was hoping to seek some advice. The drain at the rear to my flat is overflowing (it hasn't been raining and no signs of leak in my property).

I have the below wet patch that appears around by property waste which (20171204.gif) is a few meters from the mains drain (drain.gif), this also appears randomly regardless of weather conditions. Also in my toilet (i'm on ground floor) just in front of the drain sometimes I find nappies or contents I have flushed come back up

Just wanted to ask what my options are ?

Thank you kindly

Attached Files:

2. dobbie

dobbie Well-Known Member

I am not surprised things are getting blocked through your own fault.
    Nappies and whatever other things should not be flushed down the toilet.

Dr Bodgit likes this.
  3. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Well-Known Member

The drains/pipes are blocked, the wetness is caused by water (that should be flowing away) coming up through the cover. SO you need to:
    - lift the covers and unblock the drains and pipes (or get someone in to do it)
    - stop putting stuff like nappies down the toilet, idiot. The only thing that should go down the toilet is poo, toilet paper and disposal wipes (if you have to).

4. KIAB

KIAB Well-Known Member

Nappies,sanitary towels, etc will swell up when wet & easily block a pipe,they are not made to be flushed down a toilet.

5. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Active Member

It's possible that we're leaping to the wrong conclusion about the OP. The way this is written one might infer that the nappies haven't been flushed by the OP, just that they appear alongside stuff he has flushed. It's vague enough to cast doubt. What do you reckon DA?

6. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Active Member

When my drain at the rear is overflowing, that's when I'll need a nappy. It comes to us all......