Drilling into corner of room? stud ?pipe

Discussion in 'Getting Started FAQ' started by Kada, Nov 21, 2020.

1. Kada

Kada New Member

Thanks for your advice. Complete newbie to DIY.

Have I hit a stud or lintel or pipe??

I was installing a floating shelf - 3 screws went in easily It, but the last (closest to the corner) wouldn't drill. I was using a Redi drive self drilling plasterboard fixing and it wouldn't go further. I ended up drilling a hole and trying to put a white rawl plug in. I could get it most of the way and insert the screw. When I realised the wall wasn't hollow there by knocking (too late I couldn't get the plug out).

I Invested in a stud finder that was going haywire in the room including where i drilled in the corner (metal, electricity).

There are no sockets within 3 feet.

Concerned I may have hit a pipe but could it have been lintel or stud ? The bathroom on the floor above sits above this room.

Thanks for advice.

Attached Files:

2. Dream_Home

Dream_Home Member

All your photo shows is a hole in the wall, can you take one further back so we can see around it to get a better picture of what is going on

3. Kada

Kada New Member

Attached a wider photo.Thanks

Attached Files:

4. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

Firstly, do you know what the wall construction is ? Is it a stud wall ?

If yes, could be timber or metal studs

Put a screw into the hole and just tap the object with the screw using your fingers = sound weird but you can get a feel for the type of material your coming up against
    If timber stud, give the screw a turn, again with your fingers and the screw will start to bite into the wood (if a pointed screw)
    If this is the case, all good as you can then do away with the Redi Drivers, use a longer screw and fix bracket direct into stud