Edging furniture board

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by John Bunyan, Apr 29, 2022.

1. John Bunyan

John Bunyan Active Member

Has anyone cut down a white mirror gloss furniture board and re edged it on site? Got some bespoke hallway sliding cupboards to do.

2. Hausfix

Hausfix Well-Known Member

Yes, I’ve many years experience cutting and edging panels both in my factory and on site. Happy to give some advice and tips if you require, anything in particular that’s concerning you?

John Bunyan likes this.
  3. John Bunyan

WGreatOTE="Hausfix, post: 2014301, member: 271720"]Yes, I’ve many years experience cutting and edging panels both in my factory and on site. Happy to give some advice and tips if you require, anything in particular that’s concerning you?[/QUOTE]
    Great. Thanks. Yes please.
    I wasn't sure if it was possible to be honest.
    I've only got a Makita plunge saw so I'm guessing if I cut face down and set it on scribe first (about 2mm)?
    And what type of edging is available? Plastic is probably best yes?
    Trimmer and finished with a file if needed?
    What do you stick edging on with?

4. Hausfix

Ok, on the assumption that your description ‘white mirror gloss’ is simply high gloss white. Generally high gloss white will be a vinyl wrapped MDF or chipboard panel and not the tougher melamine faced chipboard that is more commonly described as furniture board. This being the case, the panel will probably have a matt white melamine back face and a glossy front face which is carried over the edges.
    Be aware that the glossy face is just a glued on layer and not nearly as well attached as the melamine back face. You can still successfully cut this panel, but need a very sharp blade to avoid chipping. With a plunge saw, cut with the back face upwards and do a very shallow (0.25mm deep) scribing pass first, then follow through with a full depth cut the second pass.