Electric boiler service report

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Jogey, Jul 5, 2021.

1. Jogey

Jogey New Member

Hi All,

Newbie here. I have just had a service report for an electric boiler as follows:

"SERVICE COMPLETED.

04/05/2021

AMP READING (CLAMP METER) 12.6

EARTH CONTINUITY CHECK 0

EARTH LOOP IMPEDANCE PASS

L TO N 240

POLARITY CORRECT YES

GSIUR Dangerous appliance ID NO

SAFE FUNCTIONING CHECK COMPLETED YES

APPLIANCE OPERATIONAL YES

APPLIANCE STATUS SAFE TO USE"

I am a general builder not an electrician so could I please ask whether all the readings in the above report are OK or are any of them cause for concern. Thanks.

2. Tony Goddard

Tony Goddard Screwfix Select

Looks fine, the overall assessment is safe to use, can't get better than that!

3. Jogey

Jogey New Member

Brilliant thanks Tony

4. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

All looks good.

5. Jogey

Jogey New Member

Thanks Seneca

6. MGW

MGW Screwfix Select

Seems a little odd, normally one would enter figures so 0.15Ω or less than 0.01Ω i.e. lowest reading on the earth look impedance meter for Earth Continuity Check, or with inspection and testing of in-service electrical equipment (PAT testing) where portable simple pass, as reading will change depending where it is plugged in, but earth look impedance and earth continuity check are really the same thing, there is a idea that if readings are recorded then it will show a trend, so if it gets higher each year you can see some thing is slowly degrading, however also there is a point that most owners would not understand the results, so better to just put down pass or fail.