Electrics

Discussion in 'Getting Started FAQ' started by BEF, Mar 22, 2020.

1. BEF

BEF New Member

Hi, I am not an electrician but a competent DIYer.
    I am about to change a ceiling light fitting back the rose type but the mains cable coming through the ceiling (which is the only cable) is not showing live on my electric screwdriver tester? and yet the light-switch on the wall is definitely showing live? I don't understand what could have happened because the previous spot lamp fitting was working up until the bulbs gave out? Nobody has been in the loft to disturb any wiring... and besides it is boarded over.

2. kevinbaldy

kevinbaldy Member

please do not use a electric screwdriver tester to confirm power to /or isolation of a circuit . they should not be trusted .

3. BEF

BEF New Member

oh blimey! I never knew that I have used one for many many years! so why are they sold if they are not safe?
    Thanks

4. kevinbaldy

kevinbaldy Member

5. terrymac

terrymac Screwfix Select

Is the existing light fitting extra low voltage ,run from a transformer ?

6. BEF

BEF New Member

no transformer straight from mains

Attached Files:

7. terrymac

terrymac Screwfix Select

Have you connected the pendant to the terminal block to see if the bulb lights ?
    When the last fitting stopped working ,how do you know it was because of bulb failure ?

8. BEF

BEF New Member

Not yet that will be my next step thanks. although I still don't get that my electric screwdriver tells me there is power at the switch but not at the ceiling?

9. terrymac

terrymac Screwfix Select

Have you tested for voltage on both sides of the switch ?

10. BEF

BEF New Member

Yes it only the red live showed voltage

11. terrymac

terrymac Screwfix Select

With switch in " on" position ,both conductors should be live ,I.e the incoming to com terminal and the outgoing switched live at L1. Are you saying only one of them is live ? If so the switch is duff.

12. BEF

BEF New Member