External Porcelain Tiles - Advice please

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Dmck, Jun 19, 2018.

1. Dmck

Dmck New Member

Hey folks I am looking for some advice for a DIY job I am thinking of attempting. I have never done any tiling before so I would like to give it a try. Small area about 1.5m square.

My outdoor porch is currently tiled but the tiles are about 30 years old and have started to fall off. I am thinking of replacing them and any advice would be appreciated. The existing tiles are on a concrete slab, and there appears to be a rubber mat layer between the concrete and tiles, I'm assuming its a waterproofing membrane but not sure.

I was advised to use porcelain tiles and I expect I will need to remove all of the old tiles and their adhesive cement. Is it OK to leave some of the old cement or can it be a bit rough?

How do I prep the surface after removal of the old tiles? Do I need leveling compound? Do I need some sort of waterproofing membrane? any advice on what adhesive or grout to use.

I intend to do a dry run with the tiles before getting stuck in. I've also read that I should butter the back of the tile and spread a layer of adhesive on the concrete surface I am applying the tile to....is this overkill?

Thanks

2. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Well-Known Member

Ello there...

I’m only diy me but have done a fair bit of tiling (various areas) and recently tiled a similiar sounding porch floor

Ok, in theory, IF, the current tiles were fully bonded to floor and no hollow and/or loose tiles, then yep, after degreasing and sealing tiles, you could tile back over

But, in this case, several have come loose so gotta bite the bullet and pull em all up. Ur be wasting ur time and effort otherwise

Question is why have tiles failed and are falling off ?

Either poorly laid in the first place (but they’ve possibly been down for decades), or maybe some damp coming up through slab ?

Once you lift tiles, if damp, you will probably notice the smell