fixing shower mixer valve to wall

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by plumb stuck, Sep 22, 2008.

1. plumb stuck

plumb stuck New Member

Hi chaps... im new to the plumbing game so could do with a few tips and help as ive come to the conclusion that sales man in bathroom shops havent got a clue.
    Got a call of a customer to come and fit a mixer shower to a tiled brick wall with the pipes concealed. like the one below, sorry dont know how to do the link thing.

www.screwfix.com/prods/74816/Bathrooms/Showers/Mixer-Showers/Thermostatic/Mira-Discovery-Dual-EV-Mixer-Shower

I told her it could not be fitted to the wall because it has a tap connection thread with a washer and she needs one with a compression with an olive. Now i could put a 90 bend tap connection and solder onto the 15mm copper pipe but it means me chasing one big hole in the brick, but even then i wouldnt be able to get to the nut as it would be in the tiled wall. The chrome covers for the nut dont go all the way to the thread so as i said the nut would be in the wall.
    Id like to know am i right? as she says the man who sold her the shower says im wrong.
    If im right how do these showers fix to a plaster board wall, is there a plate or something to put behind to hold the mixer valve?
    Be grateful if anyone can shed any light on the issue.

2. von trappe

von trappe New Member

Stud wall.

3. tooltarticus

tooltarticus New Member

bent tap con isnt a good idea, just how do you think you'd nip it up once its all tiled?use two end feed backplate elbows.( 15mm x 1/2)and just ptfe the offset reducing female irons when you second fix. easy

4. tooltarticus

tooltarticus New Member

obviously all ist fix pipework needs chasing into wall.and screw some 1/2 inch plugs into the backplate elbows to stop the tiler filling them up with muck

5. Captain Leaky

Captain Leaky New Member

6. Cornish Crofter

Cornish Crofter Active Member