Floating floor problems?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Richlinesman, Apr 18, 2017.

1. Richlinesman

Richlinesman New Member

Hi,
    New to this so be gentle!
    Had an extension built and the floor was laid with insulation and then screeded. Then i was told that the DPC was to low and the internal floor level would need to be brought up with a floating floor.
    Not being a builder i didn't know what this was and waited for it to be finished. The screed was quiet uneven but i was told this would be fine. Celotex was layers on the screed and then 18 t&g put on that.
    Now the unlevelness of the screed is causing problems with the floor!!!
    Is this a legitimate way of laying a floor??

Thanks, Rich

2. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

To be honest, no. Screed is a (should be) level finished floor surface, ready for carpet, tile, or whatever your covering. No point in screeding if to be covered with insulation then chipboard, should have insulated under the concrete oversite then screeded, or insulated on top of oversite then laid chipboard on top. If the builders couldn't even get the extension levels correct with the existing house, then it doesn't bode well for the rest of it. How out of level is the screed? Do you have any pictures showing your issues?

3. Richlinesman

Richlinesman New Member

They followed the DPC height from the old part of the house but it turns out the old floor level is actually above DPC.
    The whole build has been a catalogue of issues but all have been sorted apart from this one. Really is rubbish.
    Flooring company has said i could lay think ply, screw down and then self level over top?
    Have fitted the kitchen now and really don't want to take it out!
    Will take photos tomorrow.

4. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select