floor tiling, replace grout by silicon

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by ritchie00, Mar 15, 2006.

1. ritchie00

ritchie00 New Member

Hi,

I am a real beginner in tiling - and DIY in general - and I have a probably stupid question:

My bathroom has white tiles on the floor. The problem is that the white grout quickly becomes dirty and is really difficult to clean - we haven't find a way to perfectly clean it yet. I was wondering if I could replace the grout by some silicon - which I think would be easier to clean?

Regards,

Rich.

2. trustedman

trustedman New Member

it will look pants with silicon and it will go everywhere when you try and put it in. White floor grout is a bad idea. what about using a pale grey grout?

3. ritchie00

ritchie00 New Member

all the tiles are white so I'm worried the gray grout will be too much visible

4. handyman.

handyman. New Member

agree with tim.
    rack out old grout and replace with grey.........looks fine with white tiles.

5. ritchie00

ritchie00 New Member

ok, I'll try that. tks guys.

6. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

Hold it. Hold it.

I don't give away ALL my top tips but now and again I let one slip.

What colour are your walls ? How about a very light shade of the same colour as grout ?

This is how you can achieve it, and NO raking out involved.

IF your grout is otherwise in good condition, give it a bit of a scrub and allow to dry.

Take a GLOSS(oil based) paint of a similar colour to your walls and mix it down to a watery texture with white spirit/turps.

Approximately 2 parts paint to 8 parts turps. You will now have a tinted turps that you can apply all over the grout. Wipe off all over the tiles immediately.

Two obvious cautions. Your tiles have to be non-porous(otherwise you will colour them too), say ceramic-fine.

Test on a plain piece of white paper to ensure the shade you will get.