Going it alone - advice please

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Thermo, May 7, 2004.

1. Thermo

Thermo New Member

Hi all,
    i know ive posted this elsewhere but im after as much advice as possible! I am at the stage where i am fed up ith my current job and seriously thinking of taking the big step of going it alone as a gardener/landscaper in the south east. I am currently studying as well to get qualifications in this field. I am after any advice that you can offer with regards to any pitfalls you have come across or common mistakes made when setting up a business, or good apractice ie marketing, selling yourself etc. Thanks in advance for any help

Thermo

2. Charlie Far!ey

Charlie Far!ey New Member

Going it alone is a big step - you step out of an insulated regular job where they tell what timne to finish, what time to start and when to take a ****. Forget the clock, forget 9-5 Mon to Fri, forget trust and forget status. You aim, you focus and you fire but you follow the bullet through thick and thin but stay with it all the way until you hit your target. You aint got friends and you cant phone no-one for help. Sat and Sun are normal working days and all night working is an option but the main thing is maintain control - know where you're going, how you intend getting there and what you want when you get there. Apart from that it's easy.

Once you have made the 'step' then you will never go back to working with anyone - Prostitition is a better option than working for someone - Do it and you will never regret it and at least you will die happy.

[Edited by: The Moderator]

3. Johnny Grant

Johnny Grant New Member

Hi Thermo

From day one make sure you put away a percentage of your income for your tax (say 30%)each time you receive a payment.
    If you don't it's to easy to think you are doing better than you think and all of a sudden you will have this tax bill to pay and you will always feel like you are playing catchup after that.