Help - I want to get carpentry & joinery experience?

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Starlord69, Jan 25, 2020.

1. Starlord69

Starlord69 New Member

Hi,

I hope someone can give me some help/advice. I live in Cheshire and I went back to college recently to train in Site Carpentry & Joinery at Reaseheath Colleg. I did a 2 year CITB diploma (level 2&3) and got a mix of merit/distinctions. I'm 50 but have worked in construction in the past mainly in the office as I was an assistant QS (I've got a degree in Construction Management and was a chartered member of the CIOB) initially then worked in a family business that was in commercial glazing/window fitting in office units for a developer, which we sold back in 2008. So I have got site experience. I just hated being in the office and enjoyed being on site doing practical stuff. I am finding that no one is interested in employing me in carpentry & joinery despite what I read about skills shortages. I'm still fit so I guess my age is putting people off. I really need to get some experience before I feel confident enough to have a go at something myself. I'm really interested in timber frame/modular construction. I just wish that there was some interest from employers. I have tried sending some speculative applications but no success. I keep looking for opportunities as a mate or assistant but they are few and far between. I'm feeling disheartened as I have gone to the expense of college, got my own tools and have a Berlingo van. I'm currently working part time as an administrator, which isn't what I want to do. I've always want to have a go at selfbuild. Any ideas or advice anyone??

Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  2. ElecCEng

ElecCEng Screwfix Select