Help! Pipe thread for concealed shower handset too short to fit through plasterboard and tile!

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Marc Brown, Jun 30, 2020.

1. Marc Brown

Marc Brown New Member

Hi folks,

I'm a keen but amateur DIY enthusiast. I've decided to take on the replacement of our en-suite. I'm currently replacing the old shower. The new shower is a Triple Thermostatic Shower Pack with Head + Handset. I have two questions that I really hope someone can help me with.

1 - The handset consists of a pipe thread and elbow. Picture attached below. I have fitted all plumbing for the 3 way shower valve with plumbing leading to the handset. When i went to put up my aquaboards and inserted the pipe thread through a whole in the aquaboard I noticed it wasnt long enough to pass through both the aqauboard (12.5cm) and the (8mm) wall tile so effectively I couldnt screw the elbow onto the pipe thread. Also, the handset didnt come with a back nut and washer that I thought it would of to tighten up against the back of the aquaboard. With the shower handset itself being thrust into the elbow on the wall when in use surely it will wear away on the back of the aqauboard where the compression fitting connects to the pipe thread and eventually start to come loose from the wall? Having searched high and low i cant seem to find a longer pipe thread or way to extend the current one. Its a 1/2 BSP male with a smaller end that screws into the elbow measures about 5/8 of an inch in diameter. can someone tell me if they think it should be tightened on the back with a nut and how to extend the pipe thread?