HELP!! PLASTER DRYING OUT TOO SOON!!

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by marcusryan, Oct 4, 2005.

1. marcusryan

marcusryan New Member

Hi i'm a new plasterer and have recently done only my second job which was a large ceiling. The ceiling had been boarded and just needed skimming. As i'm new to the game im not sure of the best technique, as i was plastering the ceiling the plaster was drying out far to quickly and was becoming unworkable. This resulted in obvious joins in the plasters. Is there any way to reduce the time the plaster goes off? Also please can someone give me some tips on how to do a large ceiling area?
    Thanks.

2. richiesambora

richiesambora New Member

Hi. You say you are new to plastering, where did you learn to plaster and who taught you?

Well there are various reasons your plaster will set rather rapidly.

1. Best before date. Plaster has additives in it that prevent it from setting so you have time to work with it. If the plaster is out of date then it will set rather fast, sometimes even before you have turned it out onto your spot board.

2. Dirty/Contaminated water. If you are mixing a fresh batch of plaster it is imperative that the water is clean. If not then this can effect the setting time.

3. Water down well. Before you turn out your plaster onto your spot board you must ensure the it has been soaked with water. This prevents the moisture being sucked out of the mix and effecting the setting time. The same applies with your hawk and trowel.

4. The room temp. If it is like an oven it the room you are working in then unless your are fast your mix will set quicker.

Hope these help. how large a surface are you skimming and how quick is the mix setting?

RS

3. marcusryan

marcusryan New Member