Help with central heating expansion tank

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by NormanW, Dec 11, 2017.

1. NormanW

NormanW New Member

This is the tale of a southern European plumber, and me trying to fix the faults he has left me with!

I am not a plumber by trade, but consider myself an advanced DiY work. I know how to solder and have a pretty good idea of how stuff works.

I had a local plumber install central heating. It is an open system, heated by a 16kW wood stove boiler. In the unheated, uninsulated loft he installed a small 10 liter expansion tank. I am attaching photos.

Unfortunately he did not insulate either the tank or the pipes and last winter during some extreme cold, I had a number of bursts, including one on a 22mm elbow from the cold outlet of the tank. (sorry, can't get the picture to rotate to portrait)
    cold burst.JPG
    I am now fixing it as he has refused, unless I pay him again, but what I have found leads me to question the settings and would ask for forum members help please.

There are three pipes, a 15mm overflow pipe, a 22mm feed to the top of the tank which is from a Tee piece on the hot side of the system, and a 22mm cold outlet from the bottom of the tank, also from a Tee piece on the cold side of the system.

There is a lever ball valve close to where the cold pipe exits the loft to the outside - all the pipework runs outside the building and has now been properly insulated. When I went to replace the 90 degree elbow, I found the valve was set in the off position. It is not visible for the loft hatch.

Question: What position should the vale be set to? Open, or closed?

My understanding of an open system is that as water heats, it expands. This expansion is taken up by water flowing into the expansion tank. But I thought that then, as the system water cools and contracts, the valve should be open so that the expansion tank in essence becomes a header tank and refills the system?