Hinge jig

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by constuction man, Jul 6, 2021.

1. Have got a lot of oak doors to fit and thinking of investing in a palm router.
    I'll be able to use the router for other jobs but I'm not keen on spending too much on a jig.
    Anybody got any recommendations?
    I want one that can be used on the door AND on the frame.

Cheers

2. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

Make your own, either a small one for a single hinge or large one the length of the door.

3. masterdiy

masterdiy Screwfix Select

What length is the door?

4. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

I don't know, I can read the same as you can from the post, hopefully just a bit smaller than the frame? ;) 78 inches is standard height for imperial doors, 2040mm for metric.

masterdiy likes this.
  5. Shytot

Shytot Active Member

6. glob@l

glob@l Active Member

Flush hinges could be an alternative.

7. spen123

spen123 Screwfix Select

Robin clevette jig.
    I've never used a jig before and this was so easy to use.
    You could buy the trend but it depends on how many doors.
    To only thing with the rc jig is to do the fram you need to screw it or nail it.

I-Man likes this.
  8. Thanks for the replies.
    I've decided I'm going to make my own jig.

Looking into which palm router now. Looking fairly cheap of possible.
    I need a guide bush which they don't seem to come with.
    Any suggestions? Most of my gear is Makita. I'm not bothered if it's cordless or not

9. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

Personal experience: corded Bosch palm router pretty good, cordless Dewalt router sublime, difference between the two is several hundred quid. Cordless Makita routers have come down a lot in price over the last couple of years, especially if you already have the batteries and charger. You don't specifically need a palm router, a little 1/4" one would do. Look up Katsu routers online but be prepared to fit a longer lead.

10. jimoz

jimoz Screwfix Select