Hive multi zone installation

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by johnny27, Feb 14, 2020 at 7:24 PM.

1. johnny27

johnny27 New Member

Hi all,
    I'm trying to install a 2nd hive receiver upstairs to control upstairs heating. I have a single wire only behind my old thermostat. There is 230v on this wire. Do I need permanent live and neutral to power my receiver. I attached a picture.

Thanks in advance

Attached Files:

2. peter palmer

peter palmer Well-Known Member

I'm no expert on hive setups but I would say you are best putting the receiver at the wiring centre and disconnecting that thermostat wiring from there. the wire you have is only a twin wire with live supply and switched live out, you would need at least 3 wires to put the receiver where the old thermostat was.

Could you not have wired the two heating zones together and only use one hive? seems a bit much having upstairs and downstairs heating on different zones unless its a really big house, I know its a building reg to do this for new build houses but once you are in then you can do what you want.

3. johnny27

johnny27 New Member

Well i have the hive controlling the whole house for the last 2 years but decided to buy a 2nd thermostat with the baby coming so i could control upstairs more accurately.

Attached Files:

4. MGW

MGW Well-Known Member

As far as am am aware only Nest e has a battery powered reciver

5. MGW

MGW Well-Known Member

Hive has heat on demand function with their TRV heads so should be no need for 2 zones only you have a zone for every room.

6. johnny27

johnny27 New Member

call me crazy here, i am no expert but could i link 3 to neutral, 2 to live, and then link 3 to 3 on the hive drawings

Attached Files:

7. johnny27

johnny27 New Member

No actually if its off downstairs, there is no power upstairs

8. peter palmer