How mant of you Pro's are VAT registered?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Hoskie, Oct 23, 2005.

1. Hoskie

Hoskie New Member

Just out of interest how many of you are VAT registered and are any of you a LTD Company?

2. VAT Yes, Ltd NO, Going Ltd next tax year when I move into bigger premises.

3. Hoskie

Hoskie New Member

Knew I could rely on Mudster for an answer! Iv just registered for VAT any my accountant says I should go LTD. All of a sudden things have got a whole lot more complicated.

For example: My friend is building an extension and put his materials on my account which I am going to off set against my VAT but Iv been told that this is not a good idea.

What do you think?

4. bathstyle

bathstyle Active Member

I've been trading for just over three years, after the first year I was forced to go VAT registered and just this year I went Limited.

Agree, going Limited is a complete pain in the ar5e, but once all of your suppliers etc know then it all runs smoothly. You do need a good Accountant though to help you through the transitional period.

5. Not VATregistered and trying hard not to be, I'm a sole trader and don't employ anyone but I keep bumping up against the threshold.

I just don't want the hassle of extra paperwork and I think that it will cost me work as my charges will rise by the VAT rate but I won't be able to increase my work load without taking bodies on and I really don't want that.

Being Ltd. used to be quite a ttractive until GB changed the tax rules on dividends, so I can't see the point of going there either

6. Hoskie

Hoskie New Member

Cheers for that lads.So am I wise trying to offset a friends building materials against my VAT? As they have gone on my trade account who would no? (Apart from everyone reading this, hope the VAT man does not pop into this forum!)

7. VAT Man

VAT Man New Member

Hello Mr Hoskie.........................Im Watching you very very closely................Very close indeed..

8. panlid