How to measure and build a new staircase...

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Halfaudio, Sep 28, 2020.

1. Halfaudio

Halfaudio Member

Hello i have a task on my hands but i fear i have overestimated my abilities... And i can't just admit to my wife that i feel defeated.
    I need help measuring and calculating the new staircase so i don't screw up.
    It starts with left winder then straight up to landing left turn and straight up. I need to understand how to measure it correctly.

I have all the materials and tools that are needed for the job except the one that types this is a bit dull.. Have 3 books that explain a lot but not fully i have a lot of experience in diy and beyond it so far have done half the house on my own.
    I don't have the money for traders because of the covid as self employers had a bit of ruff time and my kids are starting to hate the ladders..
    Much appreciated...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Bobby Dazzler

Bobby Dazzler Active Member

Sorry to be blunt, but if you've got three books and are still unsure of what, and how to measure up, a few pointers on here won't help.
    As you can appreciate, a whole book can be and is written on building staircases. So anyone who's brave enough to try and condense a guide into a few posts, well good luck to them.
    Don't forget it's not just the measuring and building, there are also rules to be aware of and follow.

3. ginger tuffs

ginger tuffs Active Member

go on tk stairs site it gives you clues

4. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

Where's SMUN when you need him?