***king downlight clips

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by billhicks, May 14, 2009.

1. billhicks

billhicks Member

These things are just awful. I've installed downlights before but doing it today is just driving my crazy. Have 4 downlights to install. Lights come with with the terminals that are supposed to hold the lamp holder up off the light bulb, the problem is, if this is fitted to the downlight, the retaining clips don't fit on as there's no enough height for them as the terminal is in the way.

And then the clips themselves rip the **** out of the plasterboard!

Obviously I'm no expert but surely someone must have invented a better way to hold up downlights in a ceiling? I've attached a pic, hoping someone is gonna tell me I'm retarded and have done it wrong.

http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/7397/sddddd.jpg

2. SHREWSBURY BISCUIT

SHREWSBURY BISCUIT New Member

The long legs go in the ceiling.........the little legs don't..and it clips in...least thats the way ive fitted my previous 200000000000000000....but thats not the problem here...no bulb!!!

3. sysparks

sysparks New Member

looks like someone has treated themselves to a manicure!

4. billhicks

billhicks Member

5. seneca2

seneca2 New Member

The problem I always seem to have recently with downlighters is that the clips never seem to have enough tension to keep the lamp snugly up against the board!

6. Lucky

Lucky New Member

The problem I have had recently is with Click Eyeballs , The Fittings are good and well designed , You don`t have to * about with the Lamp Clips , Cos the Bulbs sit inside the Bezel that shows, But the Backplate surround is made of the THINNEST steel , most of the time when you install the back/plate surround in the Aperture the Metal bends and the F* Clips go into orbit , if your`e lucky you find them on the Floor , if not they shot off into the Roofspace never to be seen again .

They are that bad I e-Mailed Click moaning about them , With no reply