Kitchen floor tiling tips appreciated

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by Marc Berry, Oct 2, 2022.

1. Marc Berry

Marc Berry Member

Hi all

In a few weeks I'll be attempting the tiling of the kitchen floor and there's a few questions in my mind as I've never done it before. A fair few months ago i got tips on here for doing the back splashes and it helped.

1) this is a working kitchen as we've already done the rest of the work. In which case i wanted to minimize the time that we can't use the sink, cooker etc. My thoughts are to do one side to say least allow us access to the conservatory on the side not done at first as there is a sink out there. Then a few days later we can do the other side.
    Any advice or potential issues appreciated.

2) the floor is quite level. if i use a leveling system simply to level each tile to the next, I'm curious whether it presses down the higher of 2 tiles or lifts up the lower. In which case surely it's not good if it lifts it and breaks the bond between the tile and adhesive. Any suggestions here for a good kit to use and again any tips would be appreciated.

3) any other advice and tips would be great.

2. Truckcab79

Truckcab79 Screwfix Select

I use the Vitrex lash system. Works well though it’s difficult to find the lash clips sold separately, and it’s expensive. Mate of mine swears by Dakota. Available at Topps Tiles.

They level so I suppose both push and pull as required. In use I see them pull the higher one down more though definitely. If you have a decent bed of adhesive then it shouldnt matter that you’re pulling it away. Just think of it as having not pushed down too much before you level them. In the same way I find them better if you place the tile fairly gently and let the clips do the levelling rather than say push it down too far and then be trying to drag it back up.

Marc Berry likes this.
  3. Truckcab79