Large hole repair with water pipe

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by Losecontrol, Feb 25, 2023.

1. Losecontrol

Losecontrol New Member

Help, complete novice here in wall repair (and most DIY)….how is best to repair this quite large hole, with water pipe running through (the pipe is the cause of the hole…drilled into the pipe and flooded the place!!). I can see the external brick. The shape of the hole is all quite irregular as can be seen in the pics.

Should I fill with mortar, leave to set, then plaster over?!

Do I need to ‘protect’ the pipe at all or just mortar all around it?

thank you in advance

Attached Files:

2. FlyByNight

FlyByNight Screwfix Select

I would leave it open for a few days - just to make sure the joints do not leak although they should be fine. Did you use inserts in the plastic pipe? You would be surprised how often they are forgotten.

3. arrow

arrow Screwfix Select

I would be looking at getting to the source of the pipe and rerouteing it. Would not be happy with it there in the wall with all the joints.

4. Losecontrol

Losecontrol New Member

Not sure I’m afraid, had an emergency plumber come and do it. I know he used this:
    Hep2O Smartsleeve Pipe Support 15mm https://www.toolstation.com/hep2o-s...VsmDmCh0nvA4MEAQYASABEgLp5PD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

5. Losecontrol

Losecontrol New Member

Thank you, what would you do after being left open? It’s been open for over a month now.

6. Losecontrol

Losecontrol New Member

Thank you but that’s not viable due to various factors, not least all the redecorating that would be needed.

7. Ay Bee Cee

Ay Bee Cee Active Member

Reckon you could get away with a 6mm length of ply over the full length of the architrave.
    This will give you permanent access, but look neat.
    As for fixing, not mechanical unless you are of a careful disposition.
    it won't need much especially if it is a tight fit
    A line of decorators filler top & bottom would suffice.