Led lights flicker

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by spen123, Oct 24, 2021.

1. spen123

spen123 Active Member

Morning all
    I've got some led lights in my kitchen that are on a dimmer switch.
    They flicker when down low but only start to do this after being in for 5 minutes.
    They did work fine.
    Can intest for anything or am I looking at replacing the fittings?
    8 in total on a dedicated circuit due to being in an extention.

2. Hell68

Hell68 Active Member

Im no expert but sounds like it could be either the dimmer isn't compatible with the leds. Solution... change the bulbs to halogen or change the dimmer switch to trailing edge (if its a leading edge dimmer).

Or if it is in fact a trailing edge dimmer you might have exceeded the maximum load for the switch.

spen123 likes this.
  3. Bazza

Bazza Screwfix Select

More likely not achieved the minimum load for the dimmer!

Hell68 and seneca like this.
  4. MGW

MGW Screwfix Select

I had the same, not a dimmer switch, it was an electronic on/off switch that could be worked with a remote control or phone. We had G9 bulbs and I found there is a whole range of G9 LED bulbs. This is a picture of two G9-comp.jpg about to scale, and the large one has a smoothing capacitor inside nearly as big as the small bulb. The small bulb is designed to fit inside the glass cover required for the quartz bulb which would have retained the white hot parts of the quartz bulb if it exploded which can happen, also it stopped the harmful rays from the quartz bulb damaging our skin, unless high up so quartz cool when it reaches the ground and the rays dissipated, all quartz bulbs were used behind glass.

So when replaced with LED there is not need for the glass, so you can use the larger bulb, but they look very different and we tend to buy a chandelier or any other light fitting as much for what they look like as to light the room.