Lights stopped working overnight

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Ormondroyd8ftTall, Sep 19, 2021.

1. Ormondroyd8ftTall

Ormondroyd8ftTall New Member

Hi all,

Recently passed my AM2, so im fresh out there with a lot to learn.

Recently moved into a house that needs re-wiring. All lights in house are on one breaker and i am separating that into upstairs and downstairs MCB's. I have found the upstairs lighting junction box in the loft and disconnected everything. I have traced all the cables and and found they have been wired with the permanent live in common at light switches. This is my first time working with a lighting circuit with the permanent live wired to commons first, i usually practice with permanent live in and out at each light fitting, daisy chaining until end of line. I am re-using the light switches, as the missus wants as little chasing as possible as we are living here and money is abit tight. I have rewired the power to the lights from switch with new 1.5 twin.

This is how i've wired it using the existing switch wires.
    • Permanent live from 6A MCB ( separate to existing lighting MCB), to 5-way wago block in junction box.
    • Common from each existing light switch at room 1, 2, 4 and 4, into wago block at junction box with permanent live.
    • Wired new 1.5 twin to each light fitting back to junction box.
    • Live for each light fitting in with each light switch L1 switch wire in 2-way wago at junction box
    • Neutral for each light fitting, in with new lighting neutral from board at junction box with 5-way wago.
    • All earth from light switches, light fittings and board connected together at junction box.
    All upstairs lighting worked yesterday, not today and i'm struggling to understand why. I have 200v between live and earth at each light fitting when light switch is off, and 240v when switch is on. I have 60v at neutral in each fitting when switch off, and 120v when switch on.