Lining paper over patterned paper

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by Nick England, Feb 19, 2019.

1. Nick England

Nick England New Member

So I've got this wallpaper in one of the rooms of the house, and I want to get shot of it.

[​IMG]

The house is Georgian, with very old lime plaster walls, so stripping it is not going to be an option. It'll be a nightmare underneath.

I have two options. One is paint over it, which I'm not too keen on as it'll still show the pattern.

The other could be to use some 1400 lining paper and then paint over it. Would it still show the pattern underneath? I've never used it before.

Cheers,

Nick

2. KIAB

KIAB Well-Known Member

Reckon you could strip it carefully, hot water with spot of white vinegar, score paper lightly,then carefully dampen wall paper,leave to soak about 5 minutes or so, should come away easily using scraper.

Where our decorator Astra.:)

3. Nick England

Nick England New Member

Like I said, I've got no desire to strip this stuff off. We took the decoration off one of the bedrooms upstairs, and the walls were a catastrophe. Lime plaster, and very old. The paper here is intact, but holding it all in place. Would rather do what every other bugger with an old house does and add another layer!

4. KIAB

KIAB Well-Known Member

5. Nick England

Nick England New Member

Looks good. Ta muchly.

6. Astramax

Astramax Well-Known Member

No, No....not enough contact for the Fibreliner to adhere to. The paper on the wall is a Graham & Brown Super Fresco a heavy duty paper. Strip it off by hand with hot soapy water do not use a steam wallpaper stripper. The textured pattern will simply peel off with a little perseverance leaving a backing paper prior to soaking with the hot soapy water.

Lining paper will not be any better either, carefully strip it is the way forward!

Last edited: Feb 19, 2019
  7. Nick England

Nick England New Member

Thanks Astramax. Would that paper take paint at all well?