Load Bearing?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by CompaneroDave, Sep 25, 2020.

1. CompaneroDave

CompaneroDave New Member

Hi. I want to knocks wall down. Mid Terrace house, c.1920's. Ground floor. Sounds hollow. Have looked in loft space and wall is not perpendicular to joists. However, there is a wall directly above it. Could anyone advise on what they think? I'm a total novice by the way! Also, I know the easiest way would be to get a builder in but just trying to see if it can be done first! Cheers!

2. spirits are real 2016

spirits are real 2016 Screwfix Select

Is the wall above a solid brick wall or made of timber and plasterboard..

3. CompaneroDave

CompaneroDave New Member

Seems similar - timber and plasterboard. Similarly hollow as the one downstairs directly below it

4. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

If it is definitely a stud partition wall it won't be load bearing. However, it may still sound hollow if you tap it if it's plasterboarded dot and dab over blockwork or brickwork. Only way to know for sure is cut a square out of the plaster board.

5. Abrickie

Abrickie Screwfix Select

Don’t assume first floor joists run the same way as ceiling joists, check ;)

6. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

Stud walls can certainly be load bearing, they can be racking/buttress walls and also be supporting the roof load. An indication but not set in stone is the door lining width, if it's 5 and a quarter inches wide on seemingly a hollow sounding wall then the studs are probably 4x2 and probably taking weight somewhere, likewise for a 6 inch wide lining.

Hfs, stevie22 and Alwaysworking like this.
  7. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select