Looking to get into the trades

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Joseph Bayford, Feb 2, 2019.

1. Joseph Bayford

Joseph Bayford New Member

Hi, I'm 20 years old and was at uni but knew the course wasn't for me, I realised what I wanted to do was get into the trades. I did a bit of labouring work over a couple of summers and now am looking at getting on an apprenticeship for carpentry but they're mostly aimed at 16 year olds and I was wondering if there was any other way into the profession rather than attending college as a mature student. I would like to seek employment but as I'm new to the profession I don't possess many skills. Any advice would be a massive help, thanks

2. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

I started in college when I was 19 after dropping out of university same as you, wasn't for me. Two and a half days a week for two years to get NVQ level 1, then got a full time job on site, then one evening a week for one year got me my level 2 at 22/23, then I did my level 3 age 23/24, I'm now 32. So you're not a mature student mate, young in fact, there were 40 year old blokes on my courses that had never done the paperwork side when they started out. I think it's actually better to start a bit later than 16, as you do a hell of a lot of growing up from 16 to 20, you enter the adult world and have to learn to swim rather than sink.

DIY womble likes this.
  3. Joseph Bayford

Joseph Bayford New Member

Thanks that’s actually really encouraging to hear, I guess that’s the best way to get started, I was just hesitant as I thought I’d be an odd one out. Nice to hear I should be in good stead to get myself stuck in now, thanks again

4. handycrowd

handycrowd New Member

I agree, solid advice. And jeeze if 20 is mature, I'm a bloomin' dinosaur lol!