Losing my modem.

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by devil's advocate, Jun 5, 2006.

1. devil's advocate

devil's advocate New Member

About once a week, when I boot up the pooter to try and connect to the internet, I notice the power light on the Sagem modem doesn't come on - I know there's going to be problems...

I then get the message 'The specified modem is already in use by another application or service'. I've tried sorting it out by searching for the modem and drivers the usual way, but I just can't locate the Sagem anywhere doing this (tho' I'm not an expert by a very long chalk)

The only way I can get things working again is by uninstalling the internet modem drivers (Tiscali) and re-installing again. Everything is then fine - I usually connect at least once a day - for another week or so.
    Any ideas what might be causing this? It's really getting on my ***.

2. ultimatehandyman

ultimatehandyman New Member

I used to have a similar problem with my usb modem, I could fix it by unplugging the usb lead for a minute or so, then plug it back in!

This used to happen regularly when I was on win 98 and Millenium, now I am on XP it has never happened since.

3. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Had trouble connecting to internet recently, problem turned out to be the DSL filter on the telephone socket. Might be worth a try.

4. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

If the modem is a usb one and the power light does not come on, it is indicative that there is a loose connection(wires obviously-usb lead).

Either check connections or if you have a spare, use another lead.

As the modem draws it's power from the computers usb port, the lead is the most likely suspect.

Unless of course the modem is connected via an external usb hub. If it is switching that off for a minute or two can sort it.

You can find the modem and it's drivers in Device Manager(Shortcut=WindowsLogo+Pause/break)

Mr. HandyAndy - really

5. MOONSHINE

MOONSHINE New Member