Mason mitre joint help

Discussion in 'Kitchen Fitters' Talk' started by Leicesternewfitter, Jun 24, 2019.

1. Leicesternewfitter

Leicesternewfitter New Member

I’m new to the kitchen fitting game. It’s. Le come to worktops and I’ve been watching my trainer loads. And videos. I keep practicing at home. I till it’s my turn on site. But I can never seem to get the joint right

Any help?

With the female it’s always right! (Hard to get female wrong)

But when I do the male it never seems to line up bang on how I like it too. And I feel I’m doing all the parts right

Any help. Any tips? What do you all sugguest

2. jimoz

jimoz Screwfix Select

What jig are you using?
    Talk us through the process on male cut. Your got the cutter working against itself?

3. Leicesternewfitter

Unika jig, cut female cut. Put worktop over the joint with and offcut of worktop on the other side. Use a pencil underneath to mark the joint. Set back 7mm and put jig on that line and then cut with router

4. jimoz

jimoz Screwfix Select

Never been a fan of marking one joint with other. What happens if your marking on the face which router shouldn't be running on. With the male cut you realise that cutter is spinning clockwise and you should be pushing into the cut?
    Also are you using the waste side of the big till the final cut?

5. Leicesternewfitter

That’s properly where I’m going wrong then

Do you have any tips? What way would you do the joint. So I know and can try your method

Thanks for this

6. jimoz

jimoz Screwfix Select

I'm in Leicester too mate you can come help me with my next one!

Always make sure you're using a router against itself.

The slot on the jig is a few mm wider than collet. Use waste side until final full depth pass

7. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Screwfix Select