MDF construction tips

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Hambone, Mar 22, 2006.

1. Hambone

Hambone New Member

Hi! I'm new at this, and am building two DJ roadcases from 15mm MDF. I've had the MDF cut to size, and I'm ready to start putting it together. I'm looking for advise from you pros out there! It needs to be strong for road use.

Right now, my plan is to screw and glue L and T joints with MDF screws and wood glue. Some of the MDF screws claim to not need a pilot hole and are self-countersinking, but I thought it better to drill pilot holes the same diameter as the shank of the screws, squirt glue in before screwing them together, and countersink the MDF before putting the screwsin.

Someone also mentioned using plastic blocks on the inside of the joints for mroe reinforcement.

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. Jonny Round Boy

Jonny Round Boy New Member

You'd be FAR better off binning the MDF & using a good quality ply. You can make very strong boxes with 12 or even 9mm ply - they will be a lot stronger, longer-lasting, and lighter that any MDF box.

Your construction method seems fine, though I wouldn't bother with the glue in the screwholes - you may find it just makes the job harder. Glue & screw the joints as you describe, and if you want to make them extra-strong, put a 6mm fillet of epoxy resin round the inside of all the joints.

I know you've already bought the material, but MDF really isn't the best thing to use.

3. Hambone

Hambone New Member

Oops... I already had the MDF cut. I should've come here first!

I know they're gonna weight a ton, too. I have a feeling I'll end up rebuilding them once I figure where things are best situated, so I don't really mind.

I'm putting them on 4" castors with rubber wheels, and I actually thought the extra weight of MDF would help stop the boxes from bouncing around in the trailer with computers & other fragile stuff in them.

Thanks for the info!

4. big all

big all Screwfix Select