Meter Tails, to split or not to split

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Tomsom, Dec 7, 2021.

1. Tomsom

Tomsom New Member

Hi people,

Just looking for some second/third opinions. I'm running power out to a home office and my CU is in the centre of the house.
    I've had two electricians come out and quote for the work - one suggested I run a cable out through my living room (along the skirting), through the external wall and then clipped to the wall round the house to the home office CU (office will only be about 1m from back of house..).
    The other suggested he split the meter tails and run a cable straight along the same wall to the home office, into a new CU.

Any reason not to do the latter? Seems like a tidier solution to me but wondered why the first didn't suggest it.

For reference I'm an Aircraft Electrician by trade, so understand most of the terminology but am in no way qualified to do the work - so one of the sparkys will be coming back, just trying to work out which one...

2. Jimbo

Jimbo Screwfix Select

How much power do you need in the home office?

3. Bazza

Bazza Screwfix Select

If the meter tails are to be split, you will need a protective switch/fuse there too.
    I'd go for that option.

Unless you like looking at a wadge of cable permanently clipped to your wall!

Tomsom likes this.
  4. spinlondon

spinlondon Screwfix Select

Sounds like both Electricians are proposing the same thing.

5. BiancoTheGiraffe

BiancoTheGiraffe Screwfix Select

Where is he planning on going with the second set of meter tails?!

6. Lectrician

Lectrician Screwfix Select

Are the tails being split in the meter box? Strictly speaking, you are not supposed to put any equipment in the meter box. This may be why one electrician is advising differently.

7. Bazza

Bazza Screwfix Select

I thought that the first proposed feeding from the CU in the middle of the house, the second from the meter that (I presume) is in a more accessible location.