Need a bit of advice

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Mitchum77, May 22, 2021.

1. Mitchum77

Mitchum77 New Member

Hi everyone,

I need a bit of advice as i'm new to contracting and I have a bit of a situation :
    Two weeks ago I have been contacted by a person representing a letting company to build a custom storage space.
    Went there on a Friday, had a chat,etc. Customer then sent deposit for materials ( later that day).
    During the weekend I had a some family business to take care of so I texted the client that the materials will be ordered and works will be carried on Tuesday-Wednesday.
    Monday at 6 Pm my mrs calls me that two guys came to my house and they said they are not leaving without a refund, etc, she refunded them from the personal account, then I got in touch with them, they apologised and wanted me to carry the work for them, to which I said yes, but in about 7 days time as I was busy.

Work was supposed to be carried on Monday Tuesday next week, however due some personal circumstances I am not able to carry it on, so today I fully refunded my customer and told him I am unable to do the work.
    In exchange he rang me and he said they demand a £325 extra because they had to store the items in a storage unit, which I accepted as its my fault, however when he broke the cost down he said the taxi fare was £70 to get to my house, is this acceptable?

Also he said ''people'' will come to my house demanding the extra money TODAY, saturday at 8 PM.
    I have paid him deposit + £150 extra and I told him the remaining £175 will be paid next week, but I feel threatened by him, I told him not to come to my house otherwise I will involve the Police.

Any advice?

thanks

2. pppmacca43

pppmacca43 Super Member

It’s gone 8pm I take it they didn’t turn up? If they do ring the police, nobody should be turning up at your door to collect money

3. jonathanc

jonathanc Screwfix Select