Nest 3rd Gen Thermostat Wiring to a Fire bird Silver Boiler house.(4 Wires)

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by NPB1990, Apr 15, 2019.

Tags:
  1. NPB1990

NPB1990 New Member

As per title I currently have a Firebird Silver BoilerHouse C26kW. I recently bought the 3rd Gen Nest thermostat and was hoping to install myself. I'm not an electrician but I do know some basics and was hoping to save a few pennies by doing it myself.

My boiler is situated outside my house in a hut, and a cable runs to the dining room into a switch and a old APT timer(shown in the images on google drive (cant link images properly)). My issues is that i'm not 100% sure how I should wire the nest heat link up.

One of the images shows the current wiring in the back of the switch, which has a cable coming from outside with 4 wires in it. Black Brown Earth and Grey, The black and brown go to neutral IN and Live IN and the earth wire goes to the earth. The grey however goes to the timer, and two cables go from neutral OUT and Live OUT to the timer also.

Where do i put the grey cable on the nest? The live an neutral are simple im just unsure of the Grey cable.

There is no hot water control in the house, the radiators heat the water and also an immersion heating if needed( I know this can not be wired to nest). The system is a gravity fed system with a hot water tank in the bathroom.

Sorry for the hassle, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S I know I should probably get an electrician but moneys tight and trying to save a little.

IMAGES
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1z20Fi0nhdjv2jqWLmm4RkJ3myUd5-XB4

2. Risteard

Risteard Screwfix Select

Get an Electrician. Nest Pro installers are listed on the Nest site.

3. spirits are real 2016

spirits are real 2016 Screwfix Select