New Oil Tank installed is it safe?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Javageddon, May 27, 2021.

1. Javageddon

Javageddon New Member

Hello,
    I would like some advice please!
    I have just had a new 1300lt oil tank installed, does this look like a good and safe build?
    Nothing is fixed, most of it is relying on gravity. I'm not an engineer but would have thought that for the best weight distribution the pillars should have been under the ends of the tank(?)
    Thanks

Attached Files:

2. BiancoTheGiraffe

BiancoTheGiraffe Screwfix Select

I was always under the impression that there should be something in place to contain the oil if there was a leak, but that might just be for commercial premises

3. jonathanc

jonathanc Guest

That’s almost certainly a bounded tank.

you are right however. The span between the piers is too large abs it would have in theory been stronger is they were closer together. However, don’t worry. It looks a neat install albeit ugly because of that board on the back protecting the shed

4. ejenner

ejenner Active Member

To me answering this depends on what that slab is made from?

If there is any flexibility in that material supporting the tank then it can bend and push the pillars apart.

Our tank is a fair bit bigger than that but it is supported on concrete blocks placed under each rib.

5. stevie22

stevie22 Screwfix Select

That looks like paving slabs for the top surface with some sort of plank underneath it? The only thing I can think of is a concrete gravel board and that's not very strong at all. I wouldn't accept that if it was mine. The piers should be mortared too.

6. Javageddon

Javageddon New Member

Yes it's paving slabs on the top supported by what I assume are reinforced concrete lintels (x6).
    Like I said nothing is fixed, only the bottom row of blocks which are sort of sunk into the concrete base, the corner slabs can be moved.