New waste pipe for small sink

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Kylx, Sep 9, 2020.

1. Kylx

Kylx New Member

Hi all hope someone can help, I am a complete novice when it comes to plumbing. I have bought a new waste pipe for my sink as the previous one was leaking. After fitting the new waste I have found out it is wider than the last one and therefore the previous right angle pipe that was used does not fit. Could someone please help with how I connect this waste to the pipe work as seen in the photo attached.
    Thanks in advance,

Kyle

Attached Files:

2. just pumps

just pumps Screwfix Select

Why not return it for the same type that was there before.

3. Kylx

Kylx New Member

Because it was a metal waste and was not fitted correctly in the first place.

4. terrymac

terrymac Screwfix Select

Is it the white trap that you have fitted ?
    Show us a pic of what " right angled" pipe looks like. I don't follow what your problem is I am afraid.

5. Kylx

Kylx New Member

Yes white trap you see in pic is new, I have attached photo for you

Attached Files:

6. terrymac

terrymac Screwfix Select

Thanks . That's a compression elbow ,and a short piece of pipe joins it to the new waste traps outlet ,with relevant seal/ nut etc. Hard to tell from pic but the trap outlet looks to be at a higher level than the elbow ,and if you view from the front of the basin ( so head on) are they misaligned left to right also ?

7. Kylx

Kylx New Member

Okay thanks for the info and yes it is at a higher level than the elbow which is half of my problem as well as the elbow comes out to half, not marrying up with the outlet correctly. I don’t think they are misaligned with a little rotation of the trap it lines up.

8. terrymac

terrymac Screwfix Select

By far the easiest thing to do would be to buy a smaller bottle trap ,preferably an adjustable height one . You can buy trap height adjusters as well.

9. Kylx

Kylx New Member