Old House Purchase - Lots of Remediation Work Required - Unsure How To Start

Discussion in 'Getting Started FAQ' started by KHex, Sep 19, 2020.

1. KHex

KHex New Member

Hi, a long post as my 1st one on the forum.

I'm close to putting an offer in to buy an old house build in the 1820's. The house is on 4 stories (lower ground, ground, 1st and loft). There is lots of work required on the house and I am a complete novice when it comes to an approach, plan, order of work, budgeting, quality of work and engaging the correct tradespeople.

The house is in need of much renovation including:

• Remediate rising damp problem in the lower ground floor (no soil built up against the external walls, this is held back by external retaining walls)
    • Remediate chimney damp and chimney stack issues
    • Remediate roof issues, including possible new roof required
    • Replace damaged roof skylights x 3
    • Signs of internal wood and plaster damp due to points above
    • Signs of woodworm that may require some timber replacement and checmical treatment
    • Requires full heating system and electric combi-boiler (only electric storage heaters atm)
    • Requires full rewiring
    • Wooden framed double glazing
    • Requires some rooms to be stripped back and replastered (possibly replacing damp/damaged timbers)
    • Rebuild an external soil retaining wall around 2 sides of the house and add a dpc (wall is about 1.5m away from the house.
    • Update & upgrade bathrooms
    • Fit new kitchen
    • Remediate or replace fireplaces

The structure of the property is sound.

I am also aware I need to maintain breathability for old house, manage getting qualified tradespeople, manage getting quotes and contracts and manage delivery milestones and project plan.

The kinds of questions I have buzzing around my head is:

• Can all the issues be fixed?