Oven plug / hob hardwired, any advice?

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Hannahx07, Aug 15, 2022.

1. Hannahx07

Hannahx07 New Member

Hi all,

Currently in the process of modernising our extremely old kitchen. In the past we have always had freestanding cookers hardwired into the mains cable coming out of the wall.

however, the oven I’ve chose is a single integrated with a 13a plug on it. And the hob we are getting is a 30a hardwired. Problem is we don’t have a plug socket and the hardwired oven was wired up using a black connector circle block, not best practice or neatest by the looks but I’m no qualified electrician? Just a girl looking for advice.

We do have a cooker control unit above the worktop with a cooker on/off red switch and a plug socket next to it but would need to place the oven plug and hardwired socket into the cabinet next to the hob/oven I believe?

My dad is a retired electrician but I’m not sure he’s up to date with the regulations and doing it the right way. I’ve consulted an electrician but would love to know peoples thoughts on how to go about this so I know I’ll be getting it done safely and properly.

could we change the current on/off cooker switch to a single one without a plug socket, wire that to the hob outlet and then connect that to a plug socket? Or connect that to the same switch below? Would that work, it doesn’t look right on the picture to me. Feel free to save my image and help if possible please.

I’ll attach a picture with an extremely poor drawing of how I thought it would look without any knowledge. Sorry if this is dreadful, just looking for advice so I know things will be done right. Currently waiting on some quotes from electricians, if you could also advise what rough price I should be paying for this that would be great.

who knew planning a new kitchen would be so stressful

Attached Files:

2. chesterw

chesterw Well-Known Member

3. Hannahx07

Hannahx07 New Member

Attached Files:

4. chesterw