Over pricing??

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by Dereekoo, Jul 26, 2006.

1. Dereekoo

Dereekoo Member

OK you professionals out there, am I ripping my little old lady next door off. It all started when her "old" gardener died and she asked me to do his work (cutting back garden grass for £12) Well I did the back garden and pulled in the front garden for the £12 in an hour. Since then have done a couple of painting jobs for here and whilst i am not a pro I think I do a reasonable job but not overly quick. if you had to charge on an hourly basis taking into consideration travelling time/breaks/etc what would you hourly rate be?? i know I am taking work off the pros but the little old lady likes the covenience of just shouting me over and not going through the hassle of getting quotes and having to be around when the works is done

2. handyman.

handyman. New Member

I charge by the hour. £30 first hr, £18 per hr thereafter, for each day of work.

This includes paying for; tax, NI, holiday pay, sick pay, van, tools, wear and tear or van and tools, £1 million of 3rd party insurance.........have i forgot anything else?

3. Telmay

Telmay New Member

I take it you are declaring your earings to the revenue?

4. britishblue

britishblue New Member

I take it you are declaring your earings to the
    revenue?

I didn't know dereekoo wore earrings.

BB

5. Dereekoo

Dereekoo Member

I take it you are declaring your earings to the
    revenue?

Oops forgot about that, how do I do that and how much more should I charge the little old lady to cover that.

6. Telmay

Telmay New Member

Thanks again BritishBlue - always picking me up on my spelling

7. britishblue

britishblue New Member

You're welcome Telmay. I wouldn't bother normally as it's easily done missing a letter. Just thought it was quite humorous this time.

BB

8. gardm1nt

gardm1nt New Member

Average hourly rate for P&D about £15-£20