Painting Floorboards Help

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by Vierjennings, May 17, 2016.

1. Vierjennings

Vierjennings New Member

Hi

My partner & I made a rookie mistake & painted our varnished floorboards with Ron Seal floor paint. As you can imagine we noticed the paint simply peeled off when we began to move furniture onto the floor!

So we have stripped all the paint off which has been a nightmare.
    Weve sanded and sanded.

Im just wondering...looking at my photos would you say we are good to go and paint again (once cleaned the dust away)?

I dont want to have to do that again!

Also we have some knot block...do we need to cover the entire surface of the floor?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Rich

2. Vierjennings

Vierjennings New Member

Sorry, photos below.

Attached Files:

3. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

I don't think any resin is coming out of those knots now.

4. Vierjennings

Vierjennings New Member

Im a complete novice when it comes to this!

Weve sanded harder in some places to get rid of the paint we put down originally and lightly sanded the varnish as you can probably see from the photos.

Do you think its good to go or do we need to take that varnish back more?

5. Hi Vier.

Have you worked out why your Ronseal peeled offski? Is it because the previous varnish was too 'slippery'?

Did you prepare the old varnish first? Did you abrade it with sandpaper to provide a 'key', for instance?

Can you post a link to the Ronseal stuff you are planning to use?

Anyhoo, as Chips says, almost certainly these old knots are dry now, and probably won't cause any staining issues. So very likely you are good to paint over them. If you were to use knotting solution, you'd only apply it to the actual knots themselves.

What colour is your floor paint? What do the application instructions say?

You seem to have done a decent job of cleaning the boards up again :). Just make sure there are no still-shiny parts - and read the instructions.